The International Alliance for Mountain Film (IAMF) was set up at the conclusion of a meeting that took place on the days of 4 and 5 February in 2000 in the Sala degli Stemmi of the Museo Nazionale della Montagna in Turin, the continuation of an earlier meeting in Trento in 1999, with a declaration of intent being signed by nine founding members: Autrans, Banff, Breuil-Cervinia, Graz, Les Diablerets, Lugano, Torelló, Trento and the Museomontagna of Turin.

This declaration of intent was officialised in Autrans on 7 December 2001, and registered with a notary. After that, it was constituted as a free association on 24 July 2006, again registered with a notary. Today the IAMF numbers 23 Members: 22 festivals of mountain film and a museum, which represent 18 countries of Europe, Asia, and North and South America. With the aim of guaranteeing the spirit and motives that led to the declaration of intent, the signee directors of the founding Members become “honorary members” once their mandates come to an end, having roles of consultancy and collaboration.

As of today these roles are held by Antonio Cembran, Pierre Simoni, Bernadette McDonald, Valeriana Rosso and Mireille Chiocca.

Along its shared path the IAMF, which includes the most prestigious operators in the sector among its Members, has successfully made a name for itself and has become the main reference point for those who produce, make, promote and conserve mountain film.


You will receive every two months our latest news, the list of upcoming festivals and deadline for submissions.